My 2012 Year in Blogging

Crunchy numbers:  600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012.  This blog got about 7,900 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 13 years to get that many views. In 2012, there were 63 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 138 posts. The busiest day of the year was January 11th with 191 views. The most popular post that day was Goodnight Moon.

This report from wordpress.com just popped up in my email. I started my blog in November 2010. So, I have been at this for 25 months–a little over two years. An average of 5.52 posts per month. Bad numbers in the blogosphere. I am on Facebook even less. LOL I wish I had the time to post more regularly; but, I don’t. So, I will have to live with that.

I shall console myself with the fact that my posts are mostly original with only a few sharings of posts from other blogs–and usually those have a lot of commentary; most of my posts are L-O-N-G.

Let’s see what January 11th brings this year.

I will brag on one thing related to the Goodnight Moon post cited above. At that memorable 2012 State Chamber of Commerce dinner speech wherein a certain retired bank executive exhorted his well-heeled friends and colleagues to donate generously to his new 501(c) 3 and/or 501(c)4 in order to stand up against a certain special interest group–that would be Delaware’s education union–in upcoming school board election races in this state–I wonder how that worked out for Voices4DelawareEducation.

Not so well.

In the three(3) school board races [Red Clay SD, Christina SD, and Appoqinimink SD] into which a hell of a lot of money was sunk by the Voices4DelawareEducation folks–upwards of $100,000 by one rough estimate–not one of those Super PAC-funded candidates won. Nada. Zip. Nicht. None.

DSEA and friends were outspent 7-1. However, the DSEA-supported candidate in each of those three races won. Apparently, while money is helpful and even important, it is not the be all and end all of election success. Each of the three winning candidates was genuinely interested in serving on his/her local school board; they were not looking at school board service as a stepping stone to future positions. They were seen as capable and valuable by more that just union members–they had wide public appeal. They were perceived as having something to offer to the board, to district schools, and to their communities.

Naturally, I posted about the school board elections the following week: Full-bore School Board Elections. Check it out.

This entry was posted in Blogs and Blogging, School Boards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

