Get Your Fresh Words Here

I’ll be the first to admit it. I am a cunctator. It is a habit and inclination that I must resist almost daily.

I love words. I always have. I can get lost for many minutes in a dictionary–the old-fashioned kind, mind you–the kind one lays on the table and pages through, turning sheet after sheet of paper. If you are a fan of words and vocabulary, may I recommend subscribing to AWAD. A. Word. A. Day. I have selected the post that explains the term cunctator.

I have been a subscriber for years. I have no idea how I first discovered AWAD, but I have never regretted my subscription.  The five words (Monday through Friday) are arranged in related groups with a different theme each week. I appreicate the commitment, dedication, creativity, and sense of humor of AWAD’s founder Anu Garg. I especially love the Weekly Compendium report that includes responses from various subscribers around the world. This is the Compendium for the words from this past week: flagitious, thewless, flaneur, prima donna, and cunctator. These are the kinds of words, Anu Garg suggests, that may be useful in a down and dirty argument–a war of words.

Here is what AWAD says about AWAD.

About Wordsmith:  Wordsmith is a worldwide online community of nearly a million readers who share a love for words, wordplay, language, and literature. They hail from Australia to Zimbabwe and almost all other places in between. See the distribution.

Wordsmith was founded in 1994 by Anu Garg, while a graduate student in computer science. For more details see the news stories.

You can susbscibe for FREE! The free subscription comes with a few unobtrusive “ads” which I have never minded and rarely noticed. An ad-free version is available for $45.00.

My other word-related attraction is Freerice. Freerice is also free. It can be addicting. I have wiled away much time over the past few years by the lure of Freerice.

What is Freerice? Freerice is the world’s only online game that allows you to raise rice for the hungry, while you learn. For every correct answer you choose, 10 grains of rice are donated to the World Food Programme to help in their fight against hunger worldwide.

Give it a try, if, and only if, you have some extra time on your hands.

This entry was posted in A Good Education, Interesting Bits, Literacy, My Opinions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get Your Fresh Words Here

  1. gilda says:

    Love both of these–Freerice is particularly addictive!

  2. Malibanne says:

    Okay. I’ll bite. Cunctator sounds a bit lewd if you ask me. And I’ll be glad to get some freerice to put with my stewed chicken or pork chops any time. As long as you don’t accuse me of avarice when I take it. Now, most of my friends, as it were, think my vocabulary is better than theirs. While I realize that your devotion to unusual words is a fine hobby and while ithis pursuit is not a contast, I am certain that my vocabularly probably pales in relation to yours. I say that only because while having a good vocabulary can refine your thinking by making our language into a more precise tool, if communication with others is what you’re after, I think using obscure terms in conversation or writing really only wastes words. If you use those words with me, and I do not understand them, then we’re back to square one. Ugga ugga. Right?

  3. Frederika says:

    Not a habit–just an interest. I do not throw big words around. Just the cuncator bit here–just to get one’s attention! I am committed to good, clear and close communication. My job depends upon it. Ugga ugga.

  4. John Young says:

    I am committed to good, clear and close communication.
    or.

    I am dedicated to worthy, clarion and proximate articulation.

Leave a Reply

