Oh, my gawd!

I do love a good laugh. One of my favorite sayings is: “A day without smiling is a day wasted.” One thing that has always kept me laughing is spending the day with kids.

Art Linkletter was right–“Kids do say the darnedest things.” Like little Jeremy. I once told a 3rd grade class that if they did not settle down, the men in white coats would have to come a take me away. Wide-eyed, Jeremy pipes up, “Do you mean the Klu Klux Klan?”

Today, on a field trip to a movie theater about 12 miles from our school, one of my 6th graders asked, in all seriousness, “Are we there yet?” Funny thing was, we were not even five minutes away of school, and this kid lives about ten minutes from school down the same darned that we were traveling.

Anyway,… it is not just the kids that make me laugh these days. There are some pretty funny teacher/teaching blogs around. I just stumbled on a yet another new one this evening called EDUCATIONRUMINATION  The weirder things get, the more ya need to laugh. Check out this post, and then hit HOME to see the rest. Greg Gower has an interesting and humorous take on the modern ed scene. Satire–the queen of humor, IMHO.

It’s a new take on that old union saying from Joe Hill: Don’t get mad–organize.

Don’t get mad–satirize.

This entry was posted in Accountability, Blogs and Blogging, Career Opportunities, Education Professionals, Education Reform, Faculty and Staff, Humor, Merit Pay, New Teachers, Quality Teachers/Quality Teaching, School Days, School Improvement, Teachers and Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh, my gawd!

  1. Greygower says:

    Thanks so much for the mention. I’m new to this blogging thing!
    You’re sure right about satire easing the pain. More pain, more satire

  2. Rachael says:

    Haha! I’m really curious about the circumstances where a 3rd grader knows about the outfits and color preference of the Klu Klux Klan.

  3. 8th grade Social Studies Tchr says:

    and a few more……
    When taking my 8th graders to DC, a few “real” comments:
    When pointing out Ravens stadium, “are we still in Delaware?”
    “Mrs. S, isn’t it amazing that in only 2 and 1/2 hours, we can cross the entire United States!”
    “What state is Washington, DC in?”
    If I didn’t hear it myself, I wouldn’t believe it! These are at least 3 reasons to take students on field trips!!

  4. Frederika says:

    Let’s just say that Jeremy came from a well-educated and liberal family setting where there was lots of wide-ranging discussion at the dinner table. I happen to have known his mother. Jeremy was one of those kids who was 8, going on 40, if you know what I mean. But, I practically wet my pants laughing. Plus, we had recently gone through court-ordered desegregation in Wilmington, Delaware and the surrounding New Castle County, so Black-white issues were on lots of folks’ minds.

    Last year, in a discussion with a class about the amazing oddities of several types of octopus (incredible camouflage and hiding behaviors) that had been shown in a video clip on the Internet, one of the boys raised his hand and pronounced loudly and clearly that “Any octopus could be recognized by its eight testicles.” The boys in the class all whipped around and looked straight at me, I looked back at them, and we all burst out laughing. We laughed until tears were steaming down my face. Then, we had to explain it to the girls and to the kid who had said it. Ya gotta love ’em.

  5. Gilda says:

    …and of course the sweet, angelic looking 6th grade girl who told me with complete sincerity and lack of guile that the Ku Klux Klan was just a “social club”-her Grammy and Grampy belonged to it and they had told her so. Out of the mouths……

  6. Schatzy says:

    Yeah, but Gilda, that’s not funny. That’s scary stuff, if you ask me.

  7. Michael B says:

    Here is another education blog for you…this one always amuses me.

    http://regurgitatedalphabits.blogspot.com/

  8. Insight says:

    Have you guiys found-read Mr. Teachbad? OMG. The guy is incredible. Here’s the link http://teachbad.com/

Leave a Reply

