One Fight More

I want to commend Tim Barchak on his thoughtful and provocative posts.  If you are interested in education and edupolitical issues, and if you’re not familiar with this blog, you should check it out. Tim does not post real regularly, but when he does, I listen. I have never been disappointed; I have often been stirred to action or to at least respond. 

Tim is currently the Director of Legislation and Political Organizing for the Delaware State Education Association (DSEA). He has worked in Labor and political advocacy for more than two decades in the Midwest, Pacific Northwest, and now, Mid-Atlantic. Tim used to be the UniServ Director for RCEA–he did an outstanding job for Red Clay teachers and paras. 

So, do give Tim’s recent post, “Letting My Mind Romp,” a read. If you are a parent or teacher or a learner (surely you fit one or more of these categories), think about what you fondly and meaningfully recall from your school experiences. Names of historic figures, dates, places? Facts and formulas? Data and discoveries? I think not.

Learning is human. Learning is social. Education may be more about learning to learn that what one learns.

This entry was posted in "Reform Experts", Students and Schools, Teachers and Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Fight More

  1. Tim Barchak says:

    I think you have found your medium. Who knows, maybe you will be a Hufington Post blogger one of these days.
    Thanks for taking this on. We need more voices of reason in the new “social media”.

  2. fsjenner says:

    Thanks, Tim. I have always held strong opinions; always had a lot to say (you can see the comment “Rika talks too much” on my first grade report card); never hesitated to speak out–not always the wisest idea; often had an audience; and usually felt confident about my points of view. Speaking out and writing publicly are forms of action and I am drawn to action. I try to be thoughtful. I am often respectful. I am sometimes considerate. I have a tendency towards sarcasm and cynicism. But, heck, when you get to be my age, I do believe that some allowances should be made.

  3. fsjenner says:

    Just read a piece on another blog that suggested that one would do best to have “strong opinions, weakly held.” I instantly got it. Have clear and determined ideas and positions but be ready, willing, and able to give them up if and when you are faced with better, more correct, more realistic, more true arguments or ideas than the ones you currently have. Do not become so wedded to or immersed in your own opinions that you cannot change your mind. Good recommendation, and nicely put.
    See http://accomplishedcaliforniateachers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

