Electronic Soapbox

I have had a captive audience for the past three years. I have had the privilege and pleasure of serving as President of the Red Clay Education Association (RCEA). I have been able to communicate directly with over 1000 members via e-mail. I took advantage of this technology on a regular basis to keep members informed, to remind them (nicely) about certain duties and responsibilities as district employees, to warn them about potential pitfalls, and to rally them to action. It was great, and I think I miss it.

I also miss getting to speak out at district meetings: sharing information, debating issues, advocating for members and students and schools, expressing the POV of working teachers and other union members. I have a lot on my mind. I have a lot to say.

So, I figured a blog might be the way to go—a way to speak out about certain topics related to education, public schools, “education reform,” teaching, and the multitude of headaches and heartaches that trouble teachers in this day and age.

I have been chomping at the bit to step out, stand up, and speak out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Electronic Soapbox

  1. Pingback: Electronic Soapbox (via Does Experience Count?) « Transparent Christina

Leave a Reply

